Nicosia Municipality - Pafos Gate

Pafos Gate

DISCOVER THE CITY / Sights / Pafos Gate
Pafos Gate was one of the three gates in the walls built by the Venetians around Lefkosia (Nicosia). The road beginning immediately outside the gate led southwest to the town of Pafos (Paphos), hence the name. It was also known as Gate of San Domenico, because it replaced an earlier gate of the Frankish walls, called ‘Porta di San Domenico’ after the nearby abbey of San Domenico. The gate is a simple affair, an opening in the wall roofed by a barrel vault. During British occupation in 1878, part of the walls between the Gate and the Roccas Bastion was demolished to create a new opening. Pafos Gate Police Station is just above the original gate.
11 Jun. 2011 (12:43)
Municipal Multicultural Centre

Municipal Multipurpose Center is a historic building next to Famagusta...

Περισσότερα
KES College

KES COLLEGE has been established in 1971 and is one of the long...

Περισσότερα
ETEK Square (Old Town)

The Square is around the offices of the Scientific and Technical Chamber...

Περισσότερα
15 Sep. 2014 (08:00)
Centre of Visual Arts and Research (CVAR)

The Centre of Visual Arts and Research (CVAR), located on Ermou Street...

Περισσότερα
25 Jul. 2013 (09:00)
Leventis Art Gallery

The Leventis Gallery is an art gallery in Nicosia, Cyprus. Opened in...

Περισσότερα
28 May. 2013 (13:31)
The Medieval Walls

The first walls surrounding Lefkosia (Nicosia) in the 14th century were...

Περισσότερα
16 Dec. 2014 (12:00)
Nicosia Municipal Arts Centre

The Nicosia Municipal Arts Centre, Associated with the Pierides...

Περισσότερα