Nicosia Municipality - The Medieval Walls

The Medieval Walls

DISCOVER THE CITY / Sights / The Medieval Walls
The first walls surrounding Lefkosia (Nicosia) in the 14th century were built by the Franks and enclosed a much larger area than the 16th Venetian Walls that still surround the old town. When the Venetians occupied Cyprus, they decided to demolish the Frankish Walls because they were old and did not offer adequate defence against new weapons such as artillery. The Frankish Walls were also too big to be manned by the Venetian army and too close to the hills in the east and southeast of the city.

Forming a circle, the walls built by the Venetians were fortified by eleven heart - shaped bastions and protected by an 80 metres wide moat. They were built of mud - brick, with the lower part only buttressed by stone. When the Ottomans occupied Lefkosia (Nicosia), they repaired the walls and covered the upper part with stones. The moat around the walls now has many different uses, serving as sports fields, public gardens, an open - air sculpture exhibition, car parks etc.

06 Jun. 2012 (09:00)
State Gallery of Contemporary Art

This collection of paintings and sculptures by 20th century Cypriot...

Περισσότερα
High School Phaneromenis

It was founded in 1859 by Archbishop Makarios of Cyprus A'. From the...

Περισσότερα
St. Anthony Elementary School

The story of the foundation of the school looks like a fairy tale. In...

Περισσότερα
30 May. 2012 (15:19)
Museums of the Pancyprian Gymnasium

The Museums of The Pancyprian Gymnasium, the oldest secondary school of...

Περισσότερα
Saint Savvas

It was built in 1850-51 on the foundations of an earlier church...

Περισσότερα
15 May. 2013 (10:44)
Cyprus Folk Art Museum

The Cyprus Folk Art Museum was founded by a few keen members of the...

Περισσότερα