Nicosia 1963

In 1960, Nicosia becomes the capital of the Republic of Cyprus, whose constitution is based on the co-operation of the island's two communities, Greek and Turkish, in a ratio of seven to three. Greek Cypriots make up about 80 per cent of the island's population and Turkish Cypriots 18 per cent. The remaining two per cent are Latins, Armenians and Maronites, who at the time of independence opted to belong to the Greek Cypriot community.

In December 1963, in the aftermath of a constitutional crisis, skirmishes broke out between the Greek Cypriots and Turkish Cypriots. Nicosia was divided into Turkish and Greek quarters. The dividing line, which cuts through the city, was named the Green Line because the pen used by the UN officer to draw the line on a city map was green.